ECF SE Girls Rapidplay Championship 2017

A one-day rapidplay Championships for girls on Sunday 15th October 2017 held at Bromley High School, Blackbrook Lane, Bromley BR1 2TW. Open to any girl chess players below the age of 18 on the 1st September 2017. Part of the English Youth Grand Prix

U8, U10, U12, U14, U15-U18
The winners of each age group receive the title of ECF South East Girls’ Rapidplay Champion 2017

  • Certificates for all girls taking part
  • Prizes for the first three places in each age group
  • Extra regional trophies for the highest placed girl from the South East in each section
  • Swiss Tournament (all players play every round)
  • ECF graded for Rapidplay
  • Time control – all moves in 30 minutes (or 20 mins plus 10 secs per move)
  • Refreshments will be available for purchase
  • ECF Junior Silver membership or higher is recommended for all players to play in the event. For those players who have yet to have held ECF membership, one year’s free Junior Silver membership is available on request from the ECF office [email only,]
  • There will be an exclusive girl players only social room available between games with access to refreshments and social activities
  • Chief Arbiter – Priscilla Morris

Closing date
Thursday 12th October 2017.  Strictly no entries on the day. Entry is £15

Round 1 10.00 – 11.00; Round 2 11.10 – 12.10; Round 3 12.20-13.20
Round 4 14.00-15.00; Round 5 15.10 – 16.10; Round 6 16.20 – 17.20
Prize giving 17.30 (or earlier if possible)

Organised by Kent Junior Chess Association – all enquiries to

Entry is now closed …

Entrants (09/10/17)
Orla Dorman, Charlotte Bruce, Georgina Bruce, Urbi Modhura, Purba Audhora, Anum Sheikh, Olga Latypova, Roxolana Chaban, Neha Iyer, Laura Holmes, Isha Aggarwal-Stanbridge, Sarah Weersing, Abigail Weersing, Georgia Headlong, Radha Ratnesan, Amaya MacDonald, Asci Catabay, Mae Catabay, Vijitha Fear, Scarlet Watson, Krisha Kamat, Emily Ashcroft, Vaidehi Varma, Maitreyi Varma, Sophie Rees, Amelie Rees, Anya Srivastava, Nina Pert, Neriah Asirwathan, Tessa Holland, Zara Rizvi, Eva Ho, Jenny Kilcline, Anjola Adekoya, Vashti Burns, Emily Green, Maya McMahon, Catherine Pham, Clemence Pham, Anabelle Balmer, Elizabeth Johnson, Elizabeth Finn, Olivia Cioran, Violet Davies, Iris Davies, Sanuvi Amarakoon, Alana Patel, Aysha Rizvi, Arianna Gohil, Elizaveta Sheremetyeva, Katie Shanmuganathan, Charlotte Wright, Anika Rachna Roy, Zoha Ashraf, Yashasvini Sreeram, Zara Pepper, Siena Gurjar, Eva Anastasia Pacuraru, Samantha Mercer, Grace Allen, Flame Airikkala, Kessley Janvier, Naila Hidouci, Aoife Gough, Sophia Ciobotaru, Polina Shchepinova, Aara Kamara, Ashwina Haria-Skuse, Emily Wade, Rhea Jajodia, Alana Patel, Nikita Phillips, Niyati Gupta

1) Championship titles are awarded only to players eligible to represent England in FIDE youth championships. Players from other federations are welcome to participate but are not eligible for titles.

2a) Regional trophies will be given to the highest placed girl in each section who qualifies as a ‘South East player’. For rules on qualification as a ‘South East player’ please contact the organiser, Jo Wildman on

2b) Age of players —
(a) Girls should be eligible for the appropriate age group based on their age at 1st September 2017 —

Under 8: Under 8 on 01/09/2017
Under 10: Under 10 on 01/09/2017
Under 12: Under 12 on 01/09/2017
Under 14: Under 14 on 01/09/2017
Under 16: Under 16 on 01/09/2017
Under 18: Under 18 on 01/09/2017

(b) Ineligible players will be transferred to the correct section and lose their point tally.

Organisation of the Competition
3) The Championship will be organised in multiple age-based tournaments. They will be organised as Swiss Tournaments. The number of rounds will depend on the level of entry and the available time.
4) All moves in 30 minutes or equivalent Fischer time
5) Winners will be based on highest scores. Where scores are equal then titles/places will be decided by —
i. Match score between girls on the same score
ii. Sum of progressive scores.
iii. play off

Tournament Rules
6) If both flags are down, the game is drawn, irrespective of which flag fell first.
7) The chief arbiter’s decision is final.
8) Players (and their representatives, such as parents) are deemed to accept the above rules as a condition of entry.

Extras – Parental Responsibility
Parents or guardians are responsible for their children during the tournament. The organisers and helpers are not able to act “in loco parentis” and are not able to take responsibility for any child’s actions, or for the actions of anyone that may affect your child.
Organiser Liability
The organisers accept no responsibility for any loss, theft or accident during the tournament.
Right to refuse entry
The tournament controller reserves the right to refuse entry without being required to state a reason. The tournament controller also reserves the right to transfer players between tournaments at any time.
Refunds will only be given if a player withdraws at least 5 days before the competition.
There will be drink and light refreshments available to buy.
Seating for parents/carers
There will be a waiting area for parents/carers
Limited parking is available at the school

Scroll Up